• Campus Master Plan
  • Committees
  • Historic Campus
  • Strategic Development Plan
  • Conservation Area Land Management (CALM) Plans
  • Newell Hall

    Newell Hall

    Built as the Florida Experiment Station in 1910, Newell Hall represented the close link between the academic mission of the land-grant university and practical agricultural services to the growers and farmers of the state. Experimental fields were laid out on adjacent grounds and students got hands-on research experience. A restoration of Newell Hall was completed in 1944, the only major campus construction project completed during the Second World War.

    Architect: William Augustus Edwards with a 1944 renovation by Rudloph Weaver
    Contractor: J. J. Cain Company of Atlanta
    Building Name: Originally the Agricultural Experiment Station,it was renamed for noted entomologist Dr. Wilmon E. Newell, a director of the station and provost for Agriculture

    Newell Hall Character-Defining Features
    SCALE
    • 3-1/2 stories
    MASSING
    • Rectangular
    ROOF
    • Gable
    • Crenellated parapet
    • Upper floor added in 1944
    ENTRANCES
    • Under gable end
    WINDOWS
    • Double hung 3 over 3 light vertical panes
    • Single and paired groupings
    MATERIALS
    • Brick is Common Bond
    • 6th course in Flemish headers
    • Light red clay tiles on roof
    ORNAMENTATION
    • Cast stone
    • Water table, steeply pitched angled section
    • Wrought iron grill work
    INTERIOR FEATURES
    BUILDING-SITE RELATIONSHIP
    • Edge of district facing roadway
    • 42′ to cornice line, similar to other early buildings